Does It Hurt Bad Enough?

hound-dogWith the economy as bad-off as it currently is, how can we keep doing the same things and expect a different outcome? Didn’t some philosopher (or the uber-friendly neighbor, Wilson from the TV show Home Improvement) say that a wise man learns from his mistakes and makes changes? It is a fool who does the same actions but expects different results.

But I’m not throwing stones here; I’m as bad as anyone a when it comes to resisting change. But what causes us to fear changing our status quo?

When I was a child, my family went to the home of two elderly people who were like family to my mom when she was growing up. I don’t believe there was a blood connection, but they were as good as grandparents could be.

When we arrived, after going through the obigatory hugs, kisses and check-pinches, my sisters and I went outside to see what we could get into. Stepping onto the front porch, we noticed the hound dog which had been lying there had not moved, but was softly whining.

We walked around, visited with the chickens the couple raised, and explored the farming equipment, the likes of which we had never seen. But being a boy, I realized that the lemonade I was given upon arrival had gone straight through me, and I needed to pee. So I headed back inside to use the facilities, and the dog was still lying in the same spot, apparently unmoved, still softly whining.

After going to the bathroom, I came back out, and there was the dog, same spot and still whining.

Later that afternoon, the old man came out with my dad to check on us kids, and my curiosity got the best of me. “Why’s that dog whimpering?”

“Well, thar’s a nail stickin’ up outta da porch tha’ he’s laying on.”

Why doesn’t he move? I asked, not expecting to get a valuable life-lesson as an answer.

“Donno. I reckon it don’ hurt bad enough.”

I said I O.K. and ran off to find my sisters, not really understanding how I could be affected by that simple statement from an old man who had never attended school past the third grade.

Is that what we are? Do we whine and complain about our circumstances ad nauseam, but never create change? Do we wish for better jobs, more money, a bigger house, but are reluctant to do anything differently?

That’s where I am, and that’s why I plan to chronicle the changes I need to see in my life. Since I don’t pretend to have all the answers, and since we are trying to be interactive (Web 2.0)I welcome your feedback about what I can do differently, better, and more effectively.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: head injury, networking, personal branding, relationship economy, social networking, social web, The Communications Factors, Web2.0

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Does It Hurt Bad Enough?”

  1. mike orshan Says:

    Mark:

    I think this is a great idea and hope to see this through.

    Mike


  2. Mark –

    I have written a few articles of my own regarding our current economic situation and the power of networking to make a positive change…

    A World Without Money – http://thenationalnetworker.blogspot.com/2009/02/headline-world-without-money.html

    In Paper We Trust(ed) – http://thenationalnetworker.blogspot.com/2009/03/headline-in-paper-we-trusted.html

    I’m curious to get your take on these and welcome all criticism…

    – Adam


Leave a Reply

