Who will Tell the People????

When I was in college studying Journalism, I took a class beyond most of the standard Journalism courses — basic newswriting, feature writing, etc.

I remember the book we used was titled Who Will Tell the People? And I also remember my professor saying repeatedly, that it is the journalists of the world who have the responsibility to tell the people of injustices occurring and governmental abuses of power. A.k.a. Scandals.

But 10 to 12 years older and wiser (and maybe a little less idealistic), I realize that we, the people, are the ones whose responsibility it is to tell the people. CNN has the iReporters, the internet has bloggers. It is up to us. No matter who you are or what you do, we have the responsibility to let others who may not be current on their Market Reports know what the major companies are doing. And how what they’re doing can affect the lives of millions and ultimately the Global Economy.

After the initial bailout of Wall Street, I was a little upset and thought, “Who’s going to bail me out if I make bad business end-wall-st-bull-collapsed-slidedecisions? Will Congress?”

Why should Congress protect these companies from filing bankruptcy if their CEOs and Presidents are making 7-figure salaries in ’08?

That’s why I created 18:1, a cause on Facebook and have been inviting almost everyone I know. The reason I chose the name, 18:1, has to do with the ratio of government salaries. The President of the United States, effectively the CEO, makes approximately 18 times the lowest salary of a full time government position. Give or take…

I propose, with much thought given to the subject, that if a company had to receive bailout funds in either 2008 or 2009 to keep from filing bankruptcy, the the CEO’s salary should be limited to 18 times the lowest of the company. I would like to hear everyone’s point of view, whether for or against the proposal.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: networking, personal branding, relationship economy, social networking, social web, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

