Comcast Tries, but technical difficulties and inexperience hurt customer satisfaction

Because we were given a Mac Powerbook Pro several months ago, we’ve been spending the majority of our days at coffee shops (Panera) and other places we could get Wi-Fi. Just two weeks ago, we decided to get an aircard from Verizon Wireless which would provide me with internet access wherever my cell phone in-service.

For a time, it was incredible! I was able to connect to the internet with my laptop from the living room, the back deck, the front porch, but the problem was that the connection through the aircard was just too slow. I guess I had gotten used to the “lightning-fast speeds” which Comcast boasts.

So I decided to make the switch to a wireless connection at home. I made the appointment for a Comcast tech to come out and install a wireless modem with router Tuesday — four days later — between 8 am and 11.

The technician, who was a contractor, called shortly after 10 and said he’d be at the house at 10:30. He might have been off by a few minutes, but he did arrive before the “window” closed at 11.

Everything was going as planned, albeit a little more slowly than expected, until I was told we had “too much” signal to our modem. The tech said he would put on a splitter in the box to cut down the signal. His intention prompted me to “watch him like a hawk,” since he wanted to make our service something less than it already was.

After numerous phone calls dispatch and other people – all of which were strictly related to providing me with wireless – he told me that our cable and our neighbor’s cable should have been run in separately, and that that he would have to come back with a supervisor later in the day, since he had six appointments scheduled from 12 to 3:00.

He made sure that I was going to be at home for the next 2 ½ hours, and said he’d come back possibly with a supervisor. Again, I was considering whether I really wanted to rely both professionally and personally on the internet service he provided. Before he left, he made sure that I was able to access the internet from my desktop, so for that, I was grateful.

Around 2:00, the technician called me to tell me that I should could give him a call after I picked up my son at 3:00. I told him that I would take care of having him picked up by a friend, and that he could come as soon as he was able to – hoping that he would bring someone who had a little more experience than himself.

As of 5:25, and though I’ve watched TV, showered, done laundry, mowed the lawn, and made dinner, I’m still waiting…

However, when I called Comcast at 6:00 to make sure that he was still coming, I was assured by Chris Thompson, that “He’s on his last job and will be headed [my] way as soon as he’s finished.”

The tech did arrive as promised, and a full hour later, I was up and running wirelessly. He left the house at approximately 8:35 pm. Kudos to him for his perseverance and determination, but right now, we’re not all that pleased with the customer service provided by Comcast.

Maybe with more training for the techs, they would be able to arrive during the scheduled window and perform the scheduled service in a timely manner.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: networking, relationship economy, social networking, social web, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Comcast Tries, but technical difficulties and inexperience hurt customer satisfaction”

  1. Dj Asselin Says:

    Problems like that with Comcast is like the peanut butter that goes with jelly……


Leave a Reply

