What’s The Secret to Life?

the-secret.jpgAs we begin to establish ourselves in the world, we are faced with many choices: everything from vanilla or chocolate to what attitude we are going to project to the world. The Law of Attraction is a powerful force in the universe, and whatever we think about and thank about, we bring about.

Now, we’re trying not to get too metaphysical here, but we want to share our thoughts about the subject. The feelings we have manefest what will become of us. Happy feelings, typically, bring about the things we want. Negative or bad feelings attract things we don’t want.

When I was 16 years-old, I was in a terrible automobile accident and sustained a severe head injury. I was in a coma for about a month. I began to emerge only to find myself unable to walk, talk or even hold my head up without assistance.

For another month or so, I was aware of my surroundings, but still wasn’t able to speak. I was blessed to have a phenomenal group of surgeons and therapists in addition to a family that wouldn’t let me quit.

My parents would not allow me wallow in self-pity or ask, “God, why me?!?” At a neuro-rehab I attended years later, a vocational therapist answered the group’s question by asking, “Why the Hell not you?” Life sometimes throws you a bad pitch; deal with it.

My point is this: By not being allowed to wallow, I learned to deal the best I could with the hand I was dealt. I expected at any time that I would regain the ability to walk. It wasn’t in my mind that there was a possibility that I would never walk again, I just kept doggedly trying to get over the obstacle.

In the movie The Secret, there were about a dozen people who became extremely successful in their respective lines of work who revealed something about their past which was surprising. One man was a quadriplegic for quite some time. Less than a year later, he walked out of the hospital.

An entrepreneur who lives in a $4.5 Million home, stated that he had been homeless for some time. Wow!

Most people have had some sort of difficulty in their lives. Rather than letting their situation ruin their lives, they decided, very consciously, that they were not going to be beat by whatever happened. They focused on having a positive outlook toward life, and this was the key to their success! They didn’t allow themselves to lie around in their current situations; they just focused on their end-goals, whether the ability to walk, the cancer to be cured, or to be financially successful beyond most people’s dreams — but not their own.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, head injury, personal branding, relationship economy, social networking, social web, The Communications Factors, Web2.0

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

