Why We Do What We Do (continued…)

writer_on_beach.jpgWhen I was 16 years-old, I suffered a severe head injury resulting from an automobile accident, which left me in a coma for a month. Only after four full weeks of being unresponsive to pain stimuli did I begin the long and arduous process of the emergence from it – only to find myself unable to walk or speak. If it hadn’t been for the Grace of God, I would not be where I am today.About three to four weeks after that, I finally regained the ability to take a few cautious steps with the help of therapists and family members. I was truly blessed to have a wonderful team of doctors, surgeons and therapists and am still blessed to have a phenomenal family which encouraged and rooted for me every step of the way.After many different neuro-rehabs, I succeeded in day-to-day function that was/is almost normal. I still have a few residual problems resulting from my head injury, but for the most part, I am able to keep them under control or hidden from those I meet.Do I still lose my temper irrationally? Yes. Do I still have urges to say or do inappropriate things? Most certainly. But coming up on the 19th anniversary of the accident, I have determined in what areas I excel, and I have gone into business for myself doing what I love.If you’ve not already guessed, I love to write. Friends kid me about having OCD when it comes to grammar and punctuation, and on more than one occasion, I have been called a grammarian.Grammar is what I do. It’s what I know. It’s what I love. Some people are passionate about cars or politics, and it just so happens that I’m passionate about grammar. It’s my bread and butter.

We’ve all read sentences like, “Can you here me KNOW?” talking about the Verizon catch-phrase, or “The teacher graded the students TESTES!”These people needed editors, and I have the uncanny ability to find problem areas and the knowledge to get them fixed. Majoring in English and Journalism, I learned not only what to write and what not to write, but also how to write so that I can be understood the first time someone reads it.How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, head injury, networking, personal branding, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Why We Do What We Do (continued…)”

  1. Carter Smith Says:

    OK, since we’re being completely open here . . .

    My names Carter and I’m a spell-check-aholic. I don’t necessarily enjoy being unable to continue reading when I see a misspelled word (often called a typographical error, or “typo”), but I definitely lose a degree or two of enjoyment from that point on. I admit that I spell check websites, LinkedIn profiles, and even roadside business signs.

    You don’t want any examples, I promise.

  2. Lee Says:

    Hi. I read your notes with interest and I wondered where you have taken your life now. I am hypnocoach@thebestyoucanbe.net on FB. I am a multiple TBI survivor. Who knew….


Leave a Reply

