How Much are YOUR Clients/Customers Worth?

npp-logo.jpgYesterday, I went to Nashville Pet Products to buy my dog some high-end food. Having checked all the pet stores closer, I realized that Nashville Pet Products is the only place I can find that carries a dog-food called Innova – made with turkey, which provides the “Thanksgiving afternoon effect” for my dog (i.e. he sleeps a great deal and is much calmer during the hours he is awake).

But anyway, as I pulled up to the front door and went inside, I realized they must be busy because no one greeted me as I got out of my car. Most of the time, some employee is standing there, holding the door open as soon as you stop your car in the parking lot. I think yesterday was the first time I have ever touched the door at NPP.

Usually at least one or two people ask what I’m looking for and if they can help me find it. It’s kind of like they are “adopting” me as I go in the store, either alone, with my dog, or with my family and my dog. But yesterday was different. Because they were so busy, I was able to seek out the Innova food without any interference from staff.

I collected the five-pound bag and proceeded to the front counter where I was promptly greeted by a cashier. She apologized for the wait, said she’d be right with me, and offered to let me sit the bag of food on the counter next to the register. I declined, thinking that since I’m now a professional writer, I could use the exercise of holding the bag. (One of my previous jobs was working for FedEx Ground – I didn’t need exercise when I was with FXG!)

I saw an older man whom I’d never seen before getting a Diet Coke out of a machine. This man, who appeared to be the owner or manager, approached me and again offered to let me set the bag of food on the counter, to which I declined. Again. After another couple of minutes, during which the lines of customers hadn’t improved, he approached me again and said, “Let me see what you’ve got there” as he looked at the price on the bag. The next words which came out of his mouth I was not expecting.

“Go. Go. Just take it and go. We can’t have you standing here for that long.” Understandably, I was understandably shocked and a little confused.  As I gave him a hearty handshake and a sincere thank you, he said “We’ll be faster next time!”

The Rub:

The staff of Nashville Pet Products really understands the value of relationships and making the customers feel appreciated. It’s always nice to have your presence acknowledged, and the employees of NPP make sure that you know they value your business.

More than that, when I received a $12.00 bag of dog-food for only a few minutes of my time and some much-needed exercise, the owner/manager showed me that he values my business more than $12. He was creating a relationship with me, showing that he is already on the cusp of The Emerging Relationship Economy. How much do you value your customers?

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: relationship economy, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “How Much are YOUR Clients/Customers Worth?”

  1. Art Says:

    Good story. More of these! Makes readers (e.g., me) examine my own approaches.


Leave a Reply

