What’s Your Cross?

180px-forrestgump2.jpg

As I sat thinking yesterday, I realized that I speak slowly. That fact is nothing new; I’ve spoken slowly ever since I received a Traumatic Brain Injury when I was 16 years old. As a result of my car hitting a tree, I was in a coma for a good four weeks before starting to slowly come out of it. For another month or so, my brain was trying to find the new connections to tell the rest of my body how to form the words, and therefore I wanted to speak, but I just couldn’t find the words.

Ever since I relearned how to speak I have spoken slowly. I guess I was always told that I spoke slowly, and because of that, I decided – subconsciously – if I couldn’t have speed, I would have clarity. I speak slowly but at the same time, I speak very clearly and grammatically correct.

But this may be a hindrance when trying to convince people to either use my services at On the Mark Writing or to join Link to Nashville or Wireless Factors. I have to convince people…that…I’m…not…slow…like…Forrest…Forrest Gump. I’m exaggerating here, but I think you get the point. I feel much less self-conscious writing than speaking and, therefore, enjoy writing more. When addressing a group of fellow entrepreneurs, I face the challenge of having to prove that I’m not stupid or slow.

That’s my cross: having to break through the preconceived notions people have that if someone speaks with difficulty or even hesitation, he or she is automatically “slow.” If I am able to get through that wall, then I’m home-free. When people spend time with me and get to know me, they realize the error in their assumptions that folks who speak slowly are slow. As they get to know me, they learn that I’m smarter than most.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, relationship economy, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

