Is Your Message Getting Through?

Or is it saying something you don’t intend?

With so many salespeople and motivational speakers out there, it’s easy to think that they know all about interpersonal communications. The ones I’ve seen, have talked at a break-neck pace, giving the audience the impression that they know about what it is they pontificate.

Recently, I realized this fact. I was listening to a well-established professional speaker who is more professionally successful than I am, but I kept hearing these minute slip-ups as he spoke. “Allow him and I…” is one example I heard. No big deal, right? Well, to those arrogant twits, like me, who have an uncanny ability to remember grammatical rules, it is a big deal. You wouldn’t say, “Allow I to…,” so why would you say “Allow him and I to…”?

Again, I apologize that maybe I should have more tact, but this is what I know. Others know about management, investments, tax laws, and technology. I’m a “grammar geek,” if I may use a term of Laurie Rauchwho authors a blog of that name. To folks like me, and probably to Laurie, having these little distractions during someone’s presentation is sort of like trying to listen to a football game and do your income taxes.

I don’t claim to be perfect, but I’m constantly crafting my message so it gets through to the intended audience. It takes me what seems like a long time to me to write. (Others say that it doesn’t take me nearly as long as it would take them.) I speak slowly. Partly because I think about what it is that I want to say. (I have an aversion to the word “lot,” though it’s grammatically acceptable to use it when talking about an amount of something: i.e. lots to do, lots of friends, lots of contacts, etc. I think a lot is either where your house sits or where you go to buy a car.)

I’m constantly diagramming sentences, creating outlines, and alluding to books, movies, or what someone recently said, and I’m doing this all in my head, so sometimes, I’m not the best keynote speaker you could afford. HA!

However, writing/speaking slowly does have its advantages, sometimes. I have been offended when someone has said, “Well, if you can’t afford $X, then you need all the business you can get.” Basically, if you come to me and offer something which could “change my life,” and I say that I can’t afford it, you should know that you’ve not done a good job selling because I’m not totally convinced. It’s my way of giving you and whatever your trying to sell me the finger.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, networking, relationship economy, social networking, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

