Make Yourself More Productive!

Expert sales pro Charles Whitnel talked the other night about time compression factors. How he and others are able to get the equivalent of three-days’ work accomplished in only 12 to 14 hours. The first day, he said, was to start at 7 am and go to 11 or 12. Taking an hour for lunch, you could begin the “second day” at 1 o’clock and work another four hours. Then the coup de grâceto the workweek is the 5 pm to 9 four hour chunk of time Whitnel recommends.

I don’t know about you, but I’m a morning person. I usually get out of be around 4:30 or 5:00 and start my workday then for a couple of hours before I have to get my son ready for school and the wife off to work. Honestly, most days of the week, by 8:30 pm, I’m either in bed or dozing in and out of sleep on the couch as I “watch” television with my wife.

I agree with Whitnel that you should spend the majority of your time on “income-producing activities,” but if you work from home like I do, sometimes you’re not able to focus on those activities. I have certain responsibilities around the house, and what’s my dog going to say (or do) when I totally ignore him for four hours straight?

I truly believe that I could get more things done if I remain focused on the important things. That reminds me of an acronym Whitnel gave us: WIN – What’s Important Now? So whether I’m doing things that will produce income for me and my family or whether I’m making my kid’s lunch, I feel like the important things will become evident.

I’m not saying that there aren’t ways that I can improve on my time management skills and abilities, because there are. Just today I started laundry while rebooting my computer. Little things like that really make the difference between your having a productive day both personally and professionally.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

