The Communications Factors: Flame Wars

No, it’s not a parody of George Lucas’ 1977 film, it’s the term for sending derogatory, inslulting emails or comments to blog posts over the internet. With the emergence of the Communications Factors, and the realization of the factors’ power, it’s best to know what to do when you get flamed.

Maintain your Dignity:

This is probably the most important thing I have done since I received my first flame less than a week ago. Check out my previous posts to learn what I’m talking about. I was shocked that I would receive a horribly insulting comment on one of my posts. In the initial flame, the author insulted my ethics and called me several names which you may read in my earlier posts.

I waited a couple of days before I decided that if this other person wanted to call me any name in the book, that was fine, and I would strive to take the high road. Eventually, the person would lose interest in shooting me derogatory emails and having me counter them with posts of my own, exploiting the flaws in grammar and faulty reasoning.

Use what your “flamer” says:

Let the public make their own decisions about character. Save your emails, copy both your and your flamer’s comments and then post them at a later time. Let the public determine whether you or your flamer really wins the Blog Fight!

No more is just writing, “*&#% Off!” going to work to get others to leave you alone. To those who have the power of the Communications Factors in their arsenals, threatening to trash them over the internet is like pouring fuel on the fire. Bring it on! My personal flamer entreated me to leave them alone, since she couldn’t really compete using the Communications Factors:

“Now [insert your favorite expletive here] OFF before I devote myself to nothing but trashing your stupidity all over the internet.”

To my flamer, it’s been kind of fun, sparring with you. I could go on for days doing this. I’ll let you make the first move, again.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, networking, relationship economy, social networking, The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

