I Guess English Class Wasn’t As Important As Popularity

Browsing Technorati‘s WTF (where’s the fire?) blogs for interesting content and trends of bloggers, I noticed that the blog titled, “Never Give a Cheerleader a Keyboard” was not only poorly written, but also the author didn’t use commas correctly. In addition to her lack of commas, she spelled businessman as two words: “business man.”

Okay, for the record, she should have written, “piano player from High School Musical, Olesya Rulin, will headline…” since (I assume) there’s only one piano player in the movie the name is actually not necessary. The name serves as an appositive.

Apparently, when Kahlee’s teacher was explaining the use of commas, this cheerleader was more worried about establishing her popularity or what she was doing on the weekend. “Sometimes it’s better to keep your mouth shut and let people think you’re stupid, than to say something and remove all doubt.”

Another blog I can’t believe I wasted my time reading is called “Popnomination.” The author of this blog argues the phenomenal uses, both what he calls “legal” and illegal, of marijuana. I’ve never smoked or ingested marijuana, and I think that this person makes a very good arguement against pot:

Eating weed produces a completely different than smoking it. And it’s not all in my head; it’s been well-documented that ingesting marijuana produces a markedly different “high” then smoking it. You’re not ruining your lungs and you can get high in broad daylight, out in the open without anyone knowing you’re getting baked.

Okay, the first sentence quoted directly from his blog makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Apparently, he forgot to add the word “high” after different. That in itself shows the dangers of using marijuana. The author then writes that it’s been well-documented, and then he proceeds to repeat the first sentence. I guess he didn’t remember it.

His next sentence lacks a comma after the word “lungs,” but hey, everybody can make a mistake. I just found it rather amusing that his blog post sounds a little like a long-winded, rambling, monologue of a person without a clear sense of what it is he wants to say. (Maybe he forgot!)

The Communications Factors play a role in the nature of exchanging ideas, debate and persuasion, but the most important thing one can do for himself and his point is to make sure he has a grasp on what the Communications Factors are. The result is being ridiculed by someone who wasn’t popular in high school – or worse your potential business client.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, networking, relationship economy, social networking

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “I Guess English Class Wasn’t As Important As Popularity”

  1. kahlees Says:

    Do you have nothing better to do than to belittle me because my writing and grammar usage isn’t as eloquent as yours?

    Kahlee S

  2. Majik Says:

    I’ve seen some blogs with horrible grammar, blatant spelling errors (must have forgot to push the button marked “abc”) and sometimes content that has been taken out of context. I’m not sure where you are from, but here where I live, certain words have a different widely accepted spelling than in other countries (eg both “business man” and “businessman” are widely accepted). Yes I can understand that having a blog filled with grammatical errors is annoying to read, but none the less, the actual content is good. Every body is entitled to an opinion, at least in free democratic countries, and I actually liked the post you ridiculed from “popnomination.” I don’t advocate the use of marijuana, but the least I can do is respect someones opinion.

    If you were to visit my blog, should I be expecting to be ridiculed as well? One more thought for you to ponder before I leave, granted the press and police authorities have shown you the dangers of using marijuana, but have you ever looked at the medicinal side of marijuana? The cannibas plant has been around for thousands of years, and some speculate that it was a common ingredient in incense during the time of Christ.

    Peace!


  3. Majik – I agree that cannabis may have some medicinal uses. I’m not arguing that here. I can appreciate your thoughts, and especially the way in which you conveyed them. I have visited your blog, and no, I don’t plan to “ridicule” you.

    Hope to read more of you comments soon!

    Mark Kerrigan


Leave a Reply

