You Catch More Flies with Honey Than with Vinegar!

As we’ve written, the Communications Factors have a powerful impact on the world around you. Especiallyaround you. The ways you communicate with the world determines, to an extent, how the world views you and how it responds to your message.

If you pepper your language with profanity and vulgarity, people, whether they admit it or not, will have a different view of you. On the other hand, if your speech is full of soothing affirmations, your audience, no matter how big or small, will feel that you are interested in and concerned for them, and as a result will be more receptive to whatever you are trying to convey – it could be a sales pitch, your political views, or even your beliefs on God.

Case in point: I remember when I was a few years younger and I was involved in a traffic accident. Thankfully, I wasn’t going that fast, but I kept going while the person in the car in front of mine had come to a complete stop. CRUNCH!

I couldn’t believe I had done that, and I was beating myself up emotionally when I saw the woman get out of the car I had tapped. She was not injured, and I was fine (though I felt a little stupid). As she approached the driver’s side window, I could tell instantly that she had a peace about her. The first thing she said to me was “Are you hurt?” It would have been perfectly understandable if she stood there, looking at her car and my car, muttering obscenities. However, she did not.

“It’s just a car,” she repeated periodically through the conversation as we waited for the police to show up to make a report. Years before this, I had gotten out of the car and screamed a river of profanity after I had been rear-ended at a stoplight. Ashamed of the action I took almost 20 years ago, I only bring it up to show the difference between the communication.

I know I’m not the only person who has ever taken his eyes off the road and run into a stopped car in front. One of the co-authors of Every Man’s Battlerelates his story of driving along the coast in California and eyeing a good-looking, scantily clad jogger as he plowed into the car ahead of him. FOR THE RECORD, I hadn’t been ogling a woman. It was dark, and the streets were slick.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: The Communications Factors

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

