The Communications Factors: Their Role in Our Lives

Then I came to a sad realization. Many of my friends don’t “get it.” The other day, I was speaking with one particular friend who seemed genuinely interested in what I was doing as far as work goes.

When I mentioned that I am administrator for Link to Nashville, he had given me a puzzled look. “Now what’s Link to Nashville?” he asked me. I started to explain that Link to Nashville was a B2B, or business-to-business, social-networking platform that enables individuals to collect, collaborate and share. As I then told him that LTN was sort of a blend between LinkedIn and FaceBook, he cut me off and said that he’s heard of FaceBook and MySpace, but… [I don’t remember what he said next, because I was thinking, “I didn’t mention MySpace.”]

So I began to explain that the latest issues of the newsletters have been about Personal Branding. He asked what Personal Branding was. As I began to exlpain that basically it is a person trying to create a pressence, either on-line or off-line, with which you are able to establish yourself as the foremost authority in any given subject. Personal branding is more than this, but I don’t think my friend got past that point even though I continued to speak. I said that a person might write a blog to begin creating his personal brand, at which point, I was interrupted.

My friend said that he didn’t have much respect for blogs or bloggers. “The blogs that I’ve seen,” he said, “are just rants or random thoughts about what they [the authors] think about the lines at the grocery store.”

Personally, I agree; many blogs are simply rants or ravings of someone who clearly has too much time on his hands and just wants to be “published.”

“The blogs that I’ve seen…” Clearly, my friend hasn’t been frequenting the same blogs I do: The Personal Branding Blog, Relationship Create a New Economy, and several others.

Apparently, my friend still thinks that social networking on-line is just for kids and others who have time on their hands. He doesn’t understand that more than anything else, social networks aren’t isolating people from the world but are, instead, building bridges for building wealth in the emerging Relationship Economy. Personally, I feel like I have a better relationship with a person in New York City – even though we’ve never met and only spoken on the phone a half-dozen times – than I have with some people I see face-to-face on a weekly basis.

How ’bout it?

Explore posts in the same categories: grammar, networking, relationship economy, social networking

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

